Women of the Year Award Categories & Past Recipients

Get your nominations in by JAN. 10!

The 2020 Women of the Year is presented by the Bend Chamber in partnership with The Source Weekly and sponsored, for the 6th year in a row, by US Bank.

The Women of the Year Awards showcases inspirational stories and extraordinary achievements by formally recognizing and celebrating the outstanding contributions of individuals in our region. The Women of the Year awards honor exceptional individuals of all ages, of diverse cultures and roles, celebrating their power to spark change and improve their community and beyond.  Attendees at this year’s awards ceremony will be treated to great food and entertainment – all included in the price of admission!

Lifetime Achievement  – This award honors a woman who has achieved a high degree of success in business and has shown a history of contributions to the community over the course of her career. Through the Lifetime Achievement Award, we seek to identify leaders who will teach future generations by example. Lifetime Achievement Award winners have shown long term active engagement in our community and have made significant positive economic impacts locally. They are successful leaders in their companies, industries and true pillars in our community.

Woman of the Year – Women in Central Oregon play a critical role in the regional economy as business owners, executives, entrepreneurs, professionals and so much more. The Woman of the Year Award celebrates women who have truly excelled, not only in their business and or professional lives but also as leaders and role models in their communities. While many of these women come from different industries and walks of life, they share several traits — a strong sense of self, a success-driven work ethic and the extraordinary accomplishments to show for it. Their commitment, vision, and talents make them true leaders in their chosen fields.
Nominees must be at least 24.

Advancing Women Award – This award is designed to honor an individual of any gender for their commitment to advancing the careers of women. This is an individual whose actions, efforts and inspiration truly do make a “World of Difference” in supporting the advancement of women. This individual exemplifies commitment to elevating the status of women by working to advance them in their careers and beyond. This individual has also had a significant impact on women, giving them skills and confidence to pursue and succeed in new opportunities by promoting an environment that is free of bias and discrimination and advances goals of diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Community Hero – Typically, women who are helping other’s or supporting a cause with therir time are not seeking recgonition or praise. This award celebrates those women who are making outstanding contributions to their community. Community Heroes demonstrate how people with passion and determination can use their life to make a difference in their community. These women are positive role models who inspire others.must be 21.

Young Hero – Through this award, we are celebrating the power of local young ladies’ efforts to spark change and improve the world through passion and determination. The winner of this award embraces the challenge of tackling the unmet needs of a community and/or country through volunteer actions and/or innovative ideas to help solve a problem. (Nominee must be a student of high school senior standing through college senior standing)

The $4,000 scholarship is sponsored by Express Employment Professionals, Robberson Ford Lincoln Mazda, Bigfoot Beverages and Hayden Homes

Past Recipients of the Women of the Year Awards:

Lifetime Achievement:
2019: Peggy Carey
2018: Pamela Hulse Andrews
2017: Clella Thomas
2016: Sue Hollern

Woman of the Year:
2019: Dawn Holland, DAWNS House
2018: Carol Stiles, Head Start
2017: Julie Harrelson, CEO, Harrelson Group, Fund Manager Cascade Angels
2016: Moe Carrick, Moementum
2015: Dr. Becky Johnson, OSU-Cascades Vice President

Entrepreneur of the Year:
2019: Affton Coffelt, Broken Top Candle Co.
2018: Dana Barbato, InvestiPro
2017: Shannon Keith, Sudara
2016: Sarah Pool, CEO of Pacific Superfood Snacks; Now CEO of Canvas

Community Hero:
2019: Anna Higgins, High Desert Education Service District (HDESD)
2018: Kristin Lingman, Rural Emergency Medical Services Initiative/Airlink
2017: Alison Perry, Central Oregon Veterans Ranch
2016: Kim Meeder, Crystal Peaks Youth Ranch
2015: Betsy Warriner, Volunteer Connect

Young Hero:
2019: Jacquelynn Lopez-Lai (14-17)
2019: Lynnea Fredrickson (18-21)
2018: Heather Davenport, Senior, Mountain View High School (Ages 14-17) Isabelle Rice, Senior, Mountain View High School (Ages 18-21)
2017: Skylar Grayson, Summit High Student
2016: Madelynn Bowers, Bend High Student; Cascade Publications
& Hannah Birchem, OSU & COCC Student; Boys & Girls Club Youth of the Year
2015: Bella Wiener, Bend High Student


Join the conversation!

Got something to add to this post? Please share it here...

Add a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Bend Chamber is actively supported by these Signature Investors


: : : : : Website Navigation : : : : :